T5 D1 Lyon (streetview).png
ryan cycling2.jpeg
9
days
8
nights
PERMA'VENTURE BY BIKE
THE HAUTE LOIRE

This tour, Montpellier - Lyon, is one of the sections of the Grand Tour Cycliste:

  • Saturday August 22 - Monday August 31

  • 560 Km in total

  • 70 km / day on average

  • The first few days, mostly on local roads with little traffic, but with some sections on fairly busy roads

  • The road is mostly paved, with some stretches of dirt along the canals in the last days of the tour

  • Mostly on green roads on the second half of the tour

Hi,

My name is Ryan.

J e will be your cycling guide

during this stay, from A to Z.

I will respond to support you and

take care of

Your luggage.

See you soon !

7 days
by bike
Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

INCLUDED / NOT INCLUDED?

WHAT IS INCLUDED?

  • Welcome dinner, day 1

  • Departure dinner, day 8

  • Breakfasts x9, days 2-10 (x5 for "budget participants", days 2-4, 6 and 10)

  • Hotels x9, well located, double occupancy, private bathroom, nights 1-9

  • Budget option: Same accommodation as comfort participants in Lyon, Saint-Étienne and Orléans, nights 1, 2 and 9. 2-star hotel in Roanne, night 3, in a room with two or three beds with private bathroom. Dormitory in Moulins, night 5, with shared bathroom. Camping in Digoin, Nevers, Saint-Satur and Sully-sur-Loire, nights 4, 6, 7 and 8

  • Briefing in person with guide on the first day

  • All luggage transfers from Montpellier to Lyon

  • Support person available at hand for any need

  • Paper maps of all the cities where we spend the night

  • Itinerary in .gpx format, downloadable on smartphone / GPS computer

WHAT IS NOT INCLUDED ?

  • Bicycle: The best bike is yours to use, easy to transport by train

  • Cycling equipment: helmet, water bottles, padlocks ...

  • GPS computer: Required for this trip, for reading the .gpx tracks of the route. It is possible to use your smartphone attached to your handlebars

  • Travel insurance: We recommend that you take out insurance

  • Tips: These will however be appreciated by your guide and the restaurant owners.

  • Laundry services: The last day's accommodation has a laundry room

  • Transport to and from the start and finish points of the tour

  • Lunches: you have the choice to stop where you want

  • Dinners: from nights 2 to 8, you have the choice of your restaurants in each stopover town

  • Budget option: Breakfasts are not included on mornings spent camping

  • Any other item not listed above as being included

ACCOMMODATIONS

ACCOMMODATION - COMFORT OPTION

  • The hotels along the route there were selected according to certain criteria in order to better accommodate our cycling group. The hotels on the course have been chosen

  • Usually, we are lodged in three star hotels, while some are rated four or two stars.

  • In each case, the hotel is clean, with two separate beds in the shared rooms, and always with the private bathroom in the room.

  • Generally, the location of the hotel is excellent for exploring overnight towns.

  • Breakfast is included at each hotel. Hotels normally have bicycle storage, while sometimes you will need to take your bikes to your room for the night.

  • Depending on the availability and size of our group, our participants may be split

ACCOMMODATION - COMFORT OPTION

  • In order to offer a more affordable option, this tour includes for "participating budget" six nights out of the nine in alternative accommodation: one night in double or triple room in a budget hotel, a night in a dormitory and four nights in the tent while camping. In addition, breakfasts are not included at four campsites.

  • Participants sleep in their own tents at campsites on nights 4, 5, 7 and 8. The toilet blocks are shared with other users of these campsites. Your travel guide will also sleep in tents at the campsites, making the van available on those nights for safe storage of luggage and bicycles.

  • In Roanne, night 3, participants share double or triple rooms in a two-star hotel, with private bathroom. Breakfast is included.

  • At Digoin, night 4, the campsite is on the banks of the Loire, directly adjacent to the small town center.

  • In Moulins, night 5, the participants sleep in dormitories in the historical complex of the diocese, on the other side of the bridge that leads to the city center. The rooms are only shared with other participants of our cyclo-tour. Shared bathrooms can be shared with other users of the complex. Breakfast is included.

  • In Nevers, night 6, the campsite is also on the banks of the Loire, directly in front of the city with a view of the old bridge and of the city.

  • In Saint-Satur, night 7, the campsite is adjacent to the village, near the Loire, the canal and the cycle path. The village of Sancerre, where the comfort participants stay, is about 3.5km away, up a hill.

  • In Sully-sur-Loire, night 8, the campsite is on the banks of the Loire, on the other side of the village.

  • Your travel guide will also sleep in tents in the campsites, making the van available for secure storage of luggage and bicycles.

  • “Budget participants” must bring their own tents, sleeping pads, and sleeping bags for campsites, as well as their own towels for the majority of nights.

  • The “budget participants” and comfort are at the same establishments in Lyon, Saint-Étienne and Orléans, nights 1, 2 and 9. However, some “budget participants” may sometimes share a triple suite with three beds.

PRICE

€ 1,425 Comfort Option per person

Or € 131 / day per person

€ 890 Budget Option per person
Or € 89 / day per person

 

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Supplements and discounts

€ 265 Single room supplement

- € 50 "Room sharing discount", see FAQs

 

Depending on the booking of single / double / shared rooms and your city of origin, additional tariffs or discounts may apply. Please contact us for more information.

DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE STAY - THE RHÔNE VALLEY

WELCOME TO LYON!

Day 1

Saturday August 22

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

15:00

You are free to join the hotel from 3:00 p.m. to settle in and prepare your bike for the adventure ahead. Also take advantage of our location in the center of Lyon to explore its neighborhoods, its city center, and its banks of the Rhône.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Our trip begins at 6:00 PM with our first group meeting at the entrance to the aparthotel. There you will meet your guide and discuss the next five days of cycling from Lyon to Orleans. You will then have your first group dinner in the city center, where you will get to know the other participants in the group, before hitting the road the next morning.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

THE GIER VALLEY

Day 2

Sunday 23 August

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Lyon

Saint Etienne

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

70 km

This tour is quite demanding. Participants need to be in good cycling shape already if they decide to register, and this first day in the saddle will put your training to the test.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

For two cities so linked economically and culturally, it is surprising that Lyon and Saint-Étienne do not have the best cycling links. Our route today is almost entirely on the departmental road network, with a delicate balance between small steep roads and flatter and direct roads which are much more busy.

The most beautiful scenery is along the valley of the river Gier, although you will share this county road with heavy traffic. You will follow the river just as clearly upstream, if one relies on the many fairly rigorous climbs. Even if it is also punctuated by beautiful descents, today, prepare to climb more than 1000m on the 70 km of the course.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Saint-Étienne is the prefecture of the Loire department, with its history closely linked to the mining operations around. The city of today is rather quiet, in the shadow of its bubbling neighbor Lyon, but its city center nevertheless maintains its beautiful charm of yesteryear.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

UPSTREAM WATERS OF THE LOIRE

Day 3

Monday August 24

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Saint Etienne

Roanne

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

60 km

Following your intense day of climbs and busy roads the day before, you will certainly be well warmed up for the longest distance of the tour with 96 km. You will start the day with a departure from Saint-Étienne moderately hilly, with good distances over flat thereafter.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Today you will stay in the Loire department, and it is precisely here where you will meet the famous river for the first time. The stream you will follow is close to its source, but its regional importance is already evident. Roanne is a pleasant little town with its port, its marina and its promenade on the banks of the Loire.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

CHANNEL AND CAMPAIGN

Day 4

Tuesday 25 August

Roanne

Digoin

56 km

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Following the last rather intense days, the peaceful and country course will undoubtedly serve as a good rest. You will leave Roanne on a green road which runs along the banks of a canal. This one which will eventually take you through a series of villages and follow the route of an old railway. Thanks to the mature trees that line these trails, a good part of the course is shaded.

You will spend the night in the village of Digoin, another small port located at a crossroads of regional canals. Its 243m stone canal bridge, open to navigation since 1838, crosses the canal over the Loire to the west. The “budget participants” spend the night at the village campsite, directly on the banks of the Loire.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

THROUGH THE FIELDS

Day 5

Wednesday August 26

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Digoin

Mills

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

59 Km

Following yesterday's relaxed route, you will start this day with another good section on green dirt roads along the banks of the canal. You will pass through several picturesque villages such as Pierrefitte-sur-Loire, Diou and Dompierre-sur-Besbre, each of which offers the possibility of a lunch break. After Dompierre, on the other hand, you will spend the second half of the day crossing agricultural fields on small country roads used more by tractors.

You will spend the night in the lively little town of Moulins, prefecture of the Allier department, directly on the banks of the Allier river. Several impressive churches are worth a visit, as is the Pont Régemortes which crosses the Allier, inaugurated in 1773. “Budget participants” stay directly on the other side of this bridge, in Spartan dormitories in the historic ensemble of the diocese which dates from the same period as the bridge.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

COUNTRY ROUTES

Day 6

Thursday August 27

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Mills

Nevers

69 km

If you enjoyed yesterday afternoon's paths that ran through agricultural fields, you'll love today's even more. Once the town of Moulins is behind you, you will really spend the vast majority of the day on small country roads. The landscape alternates between agriculture and forests, sporadically dotted with hamlets and small villages.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Towards the end of the course, you will reach the canal that you left the morning before. This will take you to Nevers, Nièvre prefecture. Its small town center is still full of sites to visit, such as the extravagant Palace of the Dukes, the Gothic cathedral, and a number of well-preserved medieval houses. “Budget participants” spend the night camping on the opposite bank of the Loire, with a view of the beautiful 14-arched bridge that leads to the center of Nevers.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

MANDRES DE LOIRE AND ANCIENT VINES

Day 7

Friday August 28

Nevers

Sancerre

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

74 km

Leaving Nevers on the canal on the left bank of the Loire, you will join the Eurovélo 6 continental cycle path which links the Atlantic with the Black Sea for 4,450 km. You will undoubtedly see some of these cycle tourists crossing the continent, recognizable with their overcrowded baskets, and you'll be happy to quickly overtake them on your baggage-free bike!

As you follow the canal and the river, you will get a good impression of its historic villages, the majority of which have a cafe or bakery where you can take a short lunch break. Towards the end of the day you will find yourself surrounded by vines, whose quality of wine was renowned even in Gallo-Roman times! To end a day that has hitherto been entirely flat, our last 3 kilometers are on a significant climb up to the medieval village of Sancerre, with its impressive views over the Loire Valley and the old vineyards around.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The “budget participants” are spared this last climb because they spend the night in a campsite in Saint-Satur, directly next to the cycle path. However, a walk up the hill is essential to admire the view of Sancerre!

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

CASTLES AND CHIMERAS

Day 8

Saturday August 29

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Sancerre

Sully-sur-Loire,

87 km

Our route for the day is quite direct, following the canal and the river, without any climb. You will cross the Loire towards its right bank quite early in the day. This will allow you to cross Briare again on its canal bridge decorated at each end with chimeras that have recently been restored.

 

The Loire Valley is known for its high concentration of castles. Your destination for the day is a small village built around a very beautiful castle surrounded by moats and gardens. The “budget participants” spend the night at the campsite on the other bank of the Loire, crossing the bridge which leaves directly from the Château de Sully.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

VILLAGES, BRIDGES, CITY

Day 9

Sunday August 30

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Sully-sur-Loire

Orleans

49 km

On the last day of this tour, you will travel through many picturesque villages on the banks of the Loire, which you will cross from bank to bank on some of its bridges. Châteauneuf-sur-Loire deserves a stop along the way, where you can visit its town hall installed in a seventeenth century castle which overlooks vast landscaped gardens.

 

Your destination is the prefecture of the Center-Val-de-Loire region, with its pedestrianized city center that will attract you with its terraces and classic architecture. The Saint-Croix Cathedral is undoubtedly its piece of resistance, dedicated to the heroine of the city of Joan of Arc.

 

In the evening, we will get together for our group dinner, to celebrate the end of this trip and the 550 km cycled over the previous eight days.

 

Congratulations on driving from Lyon to Orléans!

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg

DAY IN ORLEANS

Day 10

Monday August 31

Orleans, day of rest, departure

After such an effort, this day is a day off to explore the neighborhoods and attractions of Orleans. Breakfast at the hotel is your last activity of the tour.

Lyon Orleans Map.jpeg
T5 D1 Lyon (streetview).png

T5 D1 Lyon (streetview).png
9
jours
8
nuits
PERMA'VENTURE À VÉLO
LA HAUTE LOIRE

Ce tour, Montpellier – Lyon, est l'une des sections du Grand Tour Cycliste :

  • Samedi 22 août - Lundi 31 août

  • 560 Km au total

  • 70 Km/jour en moyenne

 

  • Les premiers quelques jours, majoritairement sur des routes locales avec peu de trafic, mais avec certains tronçons sur des routes assez passantes

  • La route est goudronnée en majorité, avec certains tronçons sur terre battue le long des canaux aux derniers jours du tour

  • Majoritairement sur des routes vertes sur la deuxième moitié du tour

Salut,

Je m'appelle Ryan.

Jserai votre cyclo-guide

pendant ce séjour, de A à Z. 

Je répondrai présent pour vous soutenir et 

m'occuper de

vos bagages.

À très vite !

7 jrs
à vélo

INCLUS/PAS INCLUS ?

QU'EST-CE QUI EST INCLUS ?

  • Dîner de bienvenue, jour 1

  • Dîner de départ, jour 8

  • Petits déjeuners x9, jours 2-10 (x5 pour «participants budget», jours 2-4, 6 et 10)

  • Hôtels x9, bien situés, occupation double, sdb privée, nuits 1-9

  • Option budget : Mêmes hébergements que les participants confort à Lyon, Saint-Étienne et Orléans, nuits 1, 2 et 9.  Hôtel 2 étoiles à Roanne, nuit 3, dans une chambre de deux ou trois lits avec sdb privée.  Dortoir à Moulins, nuit 5, avec sdb partagée.  Camping à Digoin, Nevers, Saint-Satur et Sully-sur-Loire, nuits 4, 6, 7 et 8

  • Briefing en personne avec accompagnateur le premier jour

  • Tous les transferts de bagages de Montpellier à Lyon

  • Accompagnateur disponible à portée de main pour tout besoin

  • Cartes papier de toutes les villes où l’on passe la nuit

  • Itinéraire au format .gpx, téléchargeable sur smartphone/ordinateur GPS

QU'EST-CE QUI N'EST PAS INCLUS ?

  • Vélo : Le meilleur vélo à utiliser est le vôtre, facilement transportable en train

  • Équipement vélo : casque, bouteilles d’eau, cadenas...

  • Ordinateur GPS : Exigé pour ce voyage, pour la lecture des tracés .gpx de l’itinéraire. Il est possible d'utiliser votre smartphone fixé à votre guidon

  • Assurance voyage : Nous vous recommandons de prendre une assurance 

  • Pourboires : Ceux-ci seront cependant appréciés par votre accompagnateur et les restaurateurs

  • Services de laverie : L'hébergement du dernier jour dispose d'une buanderie

  • Transport vers et depuis les points de départ et d'arrivée du tour

  • Déjeuners : vous avez le choix de vous arrêter où vous le souhaitez

  • Dîners : des nuits 2 à 8, vous avez le choix de vos restaurants dans chaque ville étape

  • Option budget : Les petits déjeuners ne sont pas inclus les matins passés en camping

  • Tout autre élément non-cité ci-dessus comme étant inclus

HÉBERGEMENTS

LES HÉBERGEMENTS - OPTION CONFORT

  • Les hôtels sur le parcours on été choisis selon certains critères afin de mieux accueillir notre groupe cycliste. Les hôtels sur le parcours ont été choisi

  • En général, nous sommes hébergés dans des hôtels trois étoiles, tandis que certains sont classés quatre ou deux étoiles.

  • Dans chaque cas, l’hôtel est propre, avec deux lits séparés dans les chambres partagées, et toujours avec la salle de bains privée dans la chambre.

  • En règle générale, l’emplacement de l’hôtel est excellent pour explorer les villes où l’on passe la nuit.

  • Le petit déjeuner est inclus à chaque hôtel. Les hôtels ont normalement un local à vélo, tandis que parfois vous serez amené à prendre vos vélos dans votre chambre pour la nuit.

  • Selon la disponibilité et la taille de notre groupe, il se peut que nos participants soient répartis 

LES HÉBERGEMENTS - OPTION CONFORT

  • Afin d'offrir une option plus abordable, ce tour inclut pour des «participants budget» six nuits sur les neuf dans des hébergements alternatifs : une nuit en chambre double ou triple dans un hôtel budget, une nuit en dortoir et quatre nuits sous la tente en camping.  De plus, les petits déjeuners ne sont pas inclus dans quatre campings.

  • Participants dorment dans leurs propres tentes à des campings aux nuits 4, 5, 7 et 8.  Les blocs sanitaires sont partagés avec d’autres utilisateurs de ces campings.  Votre guide du voyage dormira également sous tente dans les campings, mettant ainsi le van à disposition ces nuits pour un entreposage sécuritaire des bagages et des vélos.

  • À Roanne, nuit 3, les participants partagent des chambres doubles ou triples dans un hôtel deux étoiles, avec salle de bains privée.  Le petit déjeuner est inclus.

  • À Digoin, nuit 4, le camping est sur les bords de la Loire, directement adjacent au petit centre-ville.

  • À Moulins, nuit 5, les participants dorment dans des dortoirs dans le complexe historique du diocèse, de l’autre côté du pont qui mène au centre-ville.  Les chambres sont partagées seulement avec d’autres participants de notre cyclo-tour.  Les salles de bains communes peuvent être avec partagées avec d’autres utilisateurs du complexe.  Le petit déjeuner est inclus.

  • À Nevers, nuit 6, le camping est aussi sur les bords de la Loire, directement en face de la ville avec vue sur l’ancien pont et sur la ville.

  • À Saint-Satur, nuit 7, le camping est adjacent au village, près de la Loire, du canal et de la piste cyclable.  Le village de Sancerre où se logent les participants confort est à environ 3.5km, en montant une colline.

  • À Sully-sur-Loire, nuit 8, le camping est sur les bords de la Loire, sur l’autre rive du village.

  • Votre guide du voyage dormira également sous tente dans les campings, mettant ainsi le van à disposition pour un entreposage sécurisé des bagages et des vélos.

  • Les « participants budget » doivent amener leurs propres tentes, matelas de sol, et sac de couchage pour les campings, ainsi que leurs propres serviettes de bain pour la majorité des nuits.

  • Les « participants budget » et confort sont aux mêmes établissements à Lyon, Saint-Étienne et Orléans, nuits 1, 2 et 9.  Il se peut toutefois que certains « participants budget » partagent parfois une suite triple avec trois lits
     

PRIX

€1 425   Option Confort par personne

              Soit €131/jour par personne

 

€890    Option Budget par personne
            Soit €89/jour par personne

 

Suppléments et rabais
 

€265   Supplément chambre seule

-€50    « Rabais partage de chambre », voir FAQs

 

En fonction de la réservation des chambres simple/double/partagées et de votre ville d'origine, des suppléments tarifaires ou rabais supplémentaires peuvent être applicables. Veuillez nous contacter pour plus d'informations.

DESCRIPTIF DÉTAILLÉ DU SÉJOUR - LA VALLÉE DU RHÔNE

BIENVENUE À LYON !

Jour 1

Samedi 22 août

15:00

Vous êtes libre d’intégrer l'hôtel à partir de 15:00, pour vous installer et préparer votre vélo pour l'aventure qui s’annonce.  Profitez également de notre emplacement au centre de Lyon pour explorer ses quartiers, son centre-ville, et ses rives du Rhône.

Notre voyage commence à 18:00 avec notre premier rendez-vous de groupe à l’entrée de l’appart-hôtel Vous y rencontrerez votre guide et discuterez des prochains cinq jours de vélo de Lyon jusqu’à Orléans.  Vous aurez ensuite votre premier dîner de groupe dans le centre-ville, où vous apprendrez à connaître les autres participants du groupe, avant de prendre la route le lendemain matin.
 

 LA VALLEE DE LA GIER

Jour 2 

Dimanche 23 août

Lyon

Saint-Étienne

70 Km

Ce tour est assez exigeant.  Il faut que les participants soient déjà en bonne forme cycliste s’ils décident de s’inscrire, et ce premier jour en selle va mettre votre entraînement à l’épreuve.

Pour deux villes si liées économiquement et culturellement, il est surprenant que Lyon et Saint-Étienne n’aient pas des meilleurs liaisons cyclistes.  Notre parcours aujourd’hui est quasi entièrement sur le réseau routier départemental, avec un délicat équilibre entre les petites routes pentues et les routes plus plates et directes qui sont beaucoup plus passantes.

 

Les plus beaux paysages sont le long de la vallée de la rivière Gier, même si vous partagerez cette route départementale avec un trafic important.  Vous suivrez la rivière aussi clairement vers l’amont, si l’on se fie aux nombreuses montées assez rigoureuses.  Même si c’est également ponctué de belles descentes, aujourd’hui, préparez-vous à grimper plus de 1 000m sur les 70 Km du parcours.

Saint-Étienne est la préfecture du département de Loire, avec son histoire intimement lié aux exploitations minières autour.  La ville d’aujourd’hui est plutôt tranquille, à l’ombre de sa bouillonnante voisine Lyon, mais son centre-ville maintient toutefois son beau charme d’autrefois.
 

 LES EAUX D’AMONT DE LA LOIRE

Jour 3 

Lundi 24 août

Saint-Étienne

Roanne

60 Km

Suite à votre journée intense de montées et de routes passantes la veille, vous serez certainement bien échauffé pour la plus longue distance du tour avec 96 Km.  Vous entamerez la journée avec un départ de Saint-Étienne moyennement vallonnée, avec des bonnes distances sur du plat par la suite.

Aujourd’hui vous demeurerez dans le département de Loire, et c’est justement ici où vous rencontrerez la fameuse rivière pour la première fois.  Le cours d’eau que vous suivrez est proche de sa source, mais son importance régionale se montre déjà évidente.  Roanne est une petite ville agréable avec son port, sa marina et sa promenade sur les bords de Loire.

 CANAL ET CAMPAGNE

Jour 4 

Mardi 25 août

 

Roanne

Digoin

 

56 Km

Suite aux derniers jours assez intenses, le parcours paisible et campagnard servira sans doute d’un bon repos.  Vous quitterez Roanne sur une route verte qui longe les rives d’un canal. Celle-ci qui vous fera éventuellement traverser une série de villages et suivre le tracé d’un ancien chemin de fer.  Grâce aux arbres matures qui bordent ces sentiers, une bonne partie du parcours est ombragée.

 

Vous passerez la nuit au village de Digoin, un autre petit port situé à un carrefour de canaux régionaux.  Son pont-canal en pierre de 243m, ouvert à la navigation depuis 1838, fait traverser le canal au dessus de la Loire vers l’ouest.  Les « participants budget » passent la nuit au camping du village, directement sur les rives de la Loire.
 

 À TRAVERS LES CHAMPS

Jour 5 

Mercredi 26 août

Digoin

Moulins

59 Km

Suite au parcours relaxe d’hier, vous commencerez cette journée avec un autre bon tronçon sur des routes vertes en terre battue le long des rives du canal.  Vous traverserez plusieurs villages pittoresques comme Pierrefitte-sur-Loire, Diou et Dompierre-sur-Besbre, qui offrent chacun la possibilité d’une pause déjeuner.  Après Dompierre, par contre, vous passerez la deuxième moitié de la journée à traverser des champs agricoles sur des petites routes de campagne utilisées plutôt par des tracteurs.

 

Vous passerez la nuit dans la petite ville vivante de Moulins, préfecture du département d’Allier, directement sur les rives de la rivière Allier.  Plusieurs églises impressionnantes méritent une visite, tout comme le Pont Régemortes qui traverse l’Allier, inauguré en 1773.  Les « participants budget » se logent directement à l’autre côté de ce pont, dans des dortoirs spartiates dans l’ensemble historique du diocèse qui date de la même époque que le pont.

 ROUTES DE CAMPAGNE

Jour 6 

Jeudi 27 août

Moulins

Nevers

 

69 Km

Si vous avez apprécié les chemins d’hier après-midi qui parcouraient les champs agricoles, vous allez aimer ceux d’aujourd’hui encore plus.  Une fois la ville de Moulins derrière vous, vous passerez vraiment la grande majorité de la journée sur des petites routes campagnardes.  Le paysage alterne entre agriculture et forêts, parsemé sporadiquement de hameaux et petits villages.

Vers la fin du parcours, vous rejoindrez le canal que vous aurez quitté la veille au matin. Celui-ci vous amènera jusqu’à Nevers, préfecture de la Nièvre.  Son petit centre-ville regorge quand-même de sites à visiter, comme l’extravagant palais des ducs, la cathédrale gothique, et un bon nombre de maisons d’époque médiévale bien préservées.  Les « participants budget » passent la nuit en camping sur la rive opposée de la Loire, avec vue sur le beau pont à 14 arches qui mène vers le centre de Nevers.
 

 MEANDRES DE LOIRE ET VIGNES ANCIENNES

Jour 7

Vendredi 28 août

 

Nevers

Sancerre

74 Km

En quittant Nevers sur le canal de la rive gauche de la Loire, vous rejoindrez la piste cyclable continentale d’Eurovélo 6 qui relie l’Atlantique avec la Mer Noire sur 4 450 Km.  Vous allez sans doute apercevoir certains de ces cyclotouristes qui traversent le continent, reconnaissables avec leurs paniers surchargés, et vous serez heureux de les dépasser rapidement sur votre vélo libre de bagages !

 

En suivant le canal et la rivière, vous aurez une bonne impression de ses villages historiques, dont la majorité ont un café ou une boulangerie où vous pouvez prendre une petite pause déjeuner.  Vers la fin de la journée vous vous retrouverez entouré de vignes, dont la qualité de son vin était de renom même à l’époque gallo-romaine !  Pour clôturer une journée jusqu’alors entièrement à plat, nos 3 derniers kilomètres sont sur une montée importante jusqu’au village médiéval de Sancerre, avec ses vues impressionnantes sur la Vallée de la Loire et sur l’ancien vignoble autour.

Les « participants budget » sont épargnés de cette dernière montée parce qu’ils passent la nuit dans un camping à Saint-Satur, directement accoté à la piste cyclable.  Une balade en haut de la colline s’impose toutefois pour admirer la vue de Sancerre !
 

 CHATEAUX ET CHIMERES

Jour 8

Samedi 29 août

Sancerre

Sully-sur-Loire,

 

87 Km

Notre parcours de la journée est assez direct, en suivant le canal et la rivière, sans aucune montée.  Vous traverserez la Loire vers sa rive droite assez tôt dans la journée. Cela vous permettra de retraverser Briare sur son pont-canal orné à chaque extrémité de chimères qui ont récemment été restaurées.

 

La Vallée de la Loire est reconnue pour sa forte concentration de châteaux. Votre destination de la journée est un petit village construit justement autour d’un très beau château entouré de douves et de jardins.  Les « participants budget » passent la nuit au camping sur l’autre rive de la Loire, en traversant le pont qui part directement du Château de Sully.

 VILLAGES, PONTS, VILLE

Jour 9

Dimanche 30 août

Sully-sur-Loire

Orléans

 

49 Km

Lors du dernier jour de ce tour, vous parcourrez de nombreux villages pittoresques sur les bords de Loire, que vous traverserez de rive en rive sur quelques-uns de ses ponts.  Châteauneuf-sur-Loire mérite une halte en chemin, où vous pourrez visiter sa mairie installée dans un château du dix-septième siècle qui donne sur de vastes jardins aménagés.

 

Votre destination est la préfecture de la région Centre-Val-de-Loire, avec son centre-ville piétonne qui vous attirera avec ses terrasses et son architecture classique.  La Cathédrale Saint-Croix est sans doute sa pièce de résistance, dédiée à l’héroïne de la ville de Jeanne d’Arc.

 

Le soir, nous nous rassemblerons pour notre dîner de groupe, pour fêter la fin de ce séjour et les quelques 550 Km parcourus à vélo sur les huit jours précédents. 

 

Félicitations d’avoir roulé de Lyon à Orléans !

JOUR À ORLEANS

Jour 10

Lundi 31 août

 

Orléans, jour de repos, départ 

Après un tel effort, ce jour est un jour de repos pour explorer les quartiers et les attractions d’Orléans.  Le petit déjeuner à l’hôtel constitue votre dernière activité du tour.

T5 D1 Lyon (streetview).png

© 2020 par PermaSocialClub

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter